Ohio PeriAnesthesia Nurses Association (OPANA)
Home
Organization
CAPANA
COPANA
DAPANA
GCPANA
NEOPANA
NOPANA
Education
Scholar/Award
LDI Pics
Resources
PANAW 
Board Bios
Minutes
Newsletters
Fall Gallery 
Certification
OPANA Mtg Pics
Region 3  
ASPAN-Pics
ASPAN News To Know

                                           ASPAN News to Know
Ohio PeriAnesthesia Nurses Association (OPANA) is a component member of ASPAN and wants to provide these updates that will have additional information that can be  seen on the ASPAN website: aspan.org  but are highlighted here in for members to be aware of some opportunities and for personal inquiry as to news to benefit all PeriAnesthesia nurses. 

News Flash-ASPAN Partners with MHAUS so members can join as a member partner at reduced rate $20.00!!!



The 2017-2018 ASPAN Perianesthesia Standards, Practice Recommendations, and Interpretive Statements now available for purchase at aspan.org member price is $70.00 and non-members price $165.00 + shipping.
The 2017-2018 edition of the ASPAN Standards contains principles of safety and ethics in
 perianesthesia practice, perianesthesia practice standards, practice recommendations,
position statements, resources from partnering organizations and interpretive statements
which provide clarity and definition to key elements of the standards.
New content in this publication includes an updates to the practice recommendation care
 of the adult patient with obstructive sleep apnea, as well as the prevention of unwanted 
sedation in the adult patient. New position statements include a position statement on
alarm management, a position statement on acuity based staffing for Phase I and a 
position statement on air quality and occupational hazard exposure prevention. A new
resource has been added to provide guidance for a perianesthesia orientation timeline.

New savings $$ opportunities for ASPAN members , see flyer below and website for additional option benefits.



ASPAN Redi-Ref for PeriAnsthesia Nursing Practice  2016 is  available in print and Flash drive 



Competency Based Orientation and Credentialing Program for the Registered Nurse in the Perianesthesia Setting, 2014 Edition available for purchase now!



A Competency Based Orientation and Credentialing Program for the Registered Nurse Caring for the Pediatric Patient in the Perianesthesia Setting, 2016 Edition



ASPAN's Webcasts and Seminars for  Winter/Spring 2017 Now Open for Registration!
    •Learn from the comfort of home (webcasts) . . . The seminar brochure will be available and mailed to you shortly.
    •Or in-person with your colleagues (seminars)    For more information,call the National Office:877.737.9696, ext. 219       Fulfill your contact hour requirements                ASPAN | 90 Frontage Road, Cherry Hill, NJ 08034 www.aspan.org
    •Choose from many topics for perianesthesia nurses

   
Live In-Person Seminars
Advanced Patient Safety: New Approaches and Directions
                                                       Saturday, June 17, 2017                       Dina KrenzischekRichmond, VA
Perianesthesia Pathophysiology and Assessment: A Systems Approach
                                                      Saturday, June 24, 2017                        Nancy StrzyzewskiFullerton, CA
Refreshing Your Perianesthesia Practice
                                                       Saturday, June 10, 2017                       Denise O'Brien 
Live Webcasts 
*******  The Early Bird Discount for the following ends May 13: 
Refreshing Your Perianesthesia Practice
Webcast - earn contact hours from the comfort of home
presenter: Denise O'Brien, DNP RN ACNS-BC CPAN CAPA FAAN
Saturday, June 10, 2017
10a - 6:55p EDT / 9a - 5:55p CDT / 8a - 4:55p MDT / 7a - 3:55p PDT

Live Webcasts - Two-Hour Programs
******  The Early Bird Discount for the following ends May 14: 
Obstructive Sleep Apnea in the Adult Patient: Putting the Practice Recommendation Into Practice
Webcast - earn contact hours from the comfort of home
presenter: Linda Beagley, MS BSN RN CPAN
Sunday, June 11, 2017
1p - 3:15p EDT / 12p - 2:15p CDT / 11a - 1:15p MDT / 10a - 12:15p PDT

Prevention of Unwanted Sedation: Putting the Practice Recommendation into Practice
Webcast - earn contact hours from the comfort of home
presenter: Linda Beagley, MS BSN RN CPAN
Sunday, June 11, 2017
4p - 6:15p EDT / 3p - 5:15p CDT / 2p - 4:15p MDT / 1p - 3:15p PDT

ASPAN.org for more information or to register.
For more information, call the National Office at 877.737.9696, ext. 219.
ASPAN is the source for perianesthesia education.






Live In-Person Seminars
Advanced Patient Safety: New Approaches and Directions
Saturday, September 23, 2017 Dina Krenzischek Marlborough, MA  
Saturday, September 30, 2017 Pam Windle Little Rock, AR  

Foundations of Perianesthesia Practice
Saturday, August 26, 2017 Meg Beturne State College, PA
Saturday, October 28, 2017 Lois Schick Bozeman, MT  

Perianesthesia Certification Review
Saturday, July 22, 2017 Terry Clifford Augusta, ME  
Saturday, July 29, 2017 Jacque Crosson Sacramento, CA  
Saturday, August 26, 2017 Lois Schick Burlingame, CA  
Saturday, August 26, 2017 Denise O'Brien Romulus, MI  
Saturday, September 9, 2017 Linda Wilson Rockville, MD  
Saturday, September 9, 2017 Linda Beagley Bloomington, MN  
Saturday, September 23, 2017 Kim Kraft Overland Park, KS  
Saturday, September 23, 2017 Lynn Sekeres Lexington, KY  
Saturday, October 7, 2017 Meg Beturne Hartford, CT  
Saturday, October 21, 2017 Myrna Mamaril Fairfax, VA  
Saturday, November 18, 2017 Nancy Strzyzewski Albany, NY  

Perianesthesia Pathophysiology and Assessment: A Systems Approach
Saturday, September 23, 2017 Denise O'Brien Indianapolis, IN  
Saturday, October 7, 2017 Wanda Rodriguez Murfreesboro, TN  

Refreshing Your Perianesthesia Practice
Sunday, November 11, 2017 Sandra Gardner Omaha, NE 

Live Webcasts: Full-Day Programs
Foundations of Perianesthesia Practice
Saturday, August 19, 2017 Linda Wilson

Pain Management in the Perianesthesia and Critical Care Settings
Saturday, September 9, 2017 Jacque Crosson  

Pediatrics: Beyond the Basics
Saturday, August 26, 2017 Myrna Mamaril  

Pediatrics: Little Bodies, Big Differences
Saturday, October 14, 2017 Linda Ziolkowski  

Perianesthesia Certification Review
Saturday, August 12, 2017 Linda Ziolkowski  
Saturday, September 30, 2017 Terry Clifford  

Perianesthesia Pathophysiology and Assessment: A Systems Approach
Saturday, November 4, 2017 Nancy Strzyzewski  

Perianesthesia Standards and Implications for Practice
Sunday, October 8, 2017 Nancy Strzyzewski  

Refreshing Your Perianesthesia Practice
Saturday, September 23, 2017 Sylvia Baker  

Safety Begins With Us
Sunday, October 22, 2017 Dina Krenzischek  

Surrounding Your Practice with Excellence:
 Legal Issues, Standards and Advocacy
Saturday, November 11, 2017 Susan DiBlasi  

Live Webcasts: Half-Day Programs
Foundations of Pediatric Perianesthesia Care
Sunday, November 5, 2017 Kim Kraft  

Infection Control Challenges: Implications for the Perianesthesia Nurse
Saturday, October 7, 2017 Terry Clifford  

Perianesthesia Essentials I
Sunday, August 13, 2017 Lynn Sekeres  

Perianesthesia Essentials II
Sunday, September 24, 2017 Sylvia Baker  

Perianesthesia Essentials III
Sunday, October 1, 2017 Sandra Gardner  

Perianesthesia Essentials IV
Sunday, October 15, 2017 Linda Beagley  

Perianesthesia Essentials V
Sunday, October 29, 2017 Sylvia Baker  

Perianesthesia Foundation
Saturday, October 21, 2017 Susan DiBlasi 

Live Webcasts: Two-Hour Programs
Obstructive Sleep Apnea in the Adult Patient:
 Putting the Practice Recommendation into Practice

Saturday, October 21, 2017 Linda Beagley  
Prevention of Unwanted Sedation:
 Putting the Practice Recommendation into Practice  
Saturday, October 28, 2017 Linda Beagley